Holy Tennis

In a night when I was celebrating Argentina’s first win in La Copa America over the US (4-1), I find myself writting about tennis. But no, this has nothing to do with the God of male athletes and the greatest tennis player to have ever set foot this side of Pluto… Rodger Federer. This is about Sania Mirza and Shahar Peer. Who? I shall explain…

Mirza is an Indian born Muslim, and Peer is an Israeli born Jew. In a world where muslims and jews are at constant war over territory God himself does not remember who belongs to, these two brave women set an example… “Why can’t we all just get along for Christ, Yaweh, or Alah’s sake?!”

Is it just me or does everyone else think this is stupid. The fact that militant leaders of their respected religions are making these two women’s life impossible is so 1960’s it’s not even funny. But I guess to me, it is a reflection of what happens when people start believing and practicing religion, instead of God (whom ever he/she may be).

If these two sections of the world can’t even be ok with two women sharing a tennis court, how can we expect them to share “Holy” land?

2 Responses to “Holy Tennis”

  1. […] Holy TennisIn a night when I was celebrating Argentina?s first win in La Copa America over the US (4-1), I find myself writting about tennis. But no, this has nothing to do with the God of male athletes and the greatest tennis player to have ever set foot this… […]

  2. I think you’re totally right.
    By the way, I think two years ago they wanted to play together, but Mirza received threats from her country, so they didn’t play .
    But the sad part is, that even if they’ll play together this time, it won’t change a thing in the Israeli Arab/Muslim dispute

Leave a Reply

